Home > Departments & units > Departments > Anaesthesia & Perioperative Medicine

Anaesthesia & Perioperative Medicine

The Department of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine is recognised internationally as a provider of excellent clinical service, training and research. Our Divisions include Acute Pain Service , Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia, Chronic Pain Management Clinic, Critical Care and Paediatric Anaesthesia.

Located in Groote Schuur Hospital, the main teaching hospital of the University of Cape Town, the department provides a wide range of mainly tertiary services including all major surgical disciplines. Anaesthesia services are provided to the teaching hospitals affiliated to the Faculty of Health Sciences.

We are proud to have provided anaesthesia for the world's first heart transplant, and we continue to have a strong interest in cardiac anaesthesia. Our Nagin Parbhoo Museum includes displays of anaesthesia equipment and related items dating back to the 1800's. 


The Nagin Parbhoo History of Anaesthesia Museum

The museum housed in the University of Cape Town (UCT) Department of Anaesthesia boasts the finest collection of early anaesthesia apparatus in Africa, with artefacts dating back to 1847 – only one year after the historic first public demonstration by Morton of the efficacy of ether to provide anaesthesia in Boston in October 1846. Read more