The Department of Pathology undertakes basic & applied scientific research aimed at understanding mechanisms, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of diseases.  It contributes to training of undergraduate medical students, and has a large post-graduate teaching and training programme. A comprehensive Pathology service is also provided to the Western Cape and South Africa.​

The Department is located in the Falmouth Building at the Faculty of Health Sciences, with service facilities located in Groote Schuur Hospital, Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital and Salt River Mortuary.


The Department of Pathology at the University of Cape Town is a large academic department comprising eight divisions:

The Department is supported by the National Health Laboratory Services and Western Cape Government.  It has over 80 academic members of staff, and has approximately 200 registered post-graduate students registered for the following degrees:  ​

  • BSc(Hons)
  • MMed
  • MSc
  • MPhil (Forensic Medicine)
  • MSc (Med) (by dissertation) 
  • PhD
The Pathology Learning Centre

The Pathology Learning Centre is also hosted within the department, which holds an extraordinary collection of teaching specimens that have been accumulated over more than 80 years.
The collection has been digitised to provide a learning resource for health sciences students everywhere, but it is especially relevant for those studying at institutions in Africa. Learn more