Home > Departments & units > Departments > Surgery > Otorhinolaryngology

Otorhinolaryngology (ENT)

The Division of Otorhinolaryngology is part of the Department of Surgery in the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Cape Town. It is based at Groote Schuur, Red Cross Memorial Children's and the New Somerset Hospitals.

Through the work of the division at these tertiary hospitals, the full spectrum of pathology at the levels of both the developed world and the developing world is experienced.

The division provides a comprehensive ENT service to state patients and to private patients at the University of Cape Town Private Academic Hospital (UCTPAH).

Open Access ENT Medical Books - sharing knowledge globally
Prof Johan Fagan, Head of the Division of Otorhinolaryngology has taken the initiative to develop freely available, high quality reference resources for ENTs. These textbooks are available on UCT's OpenContent and the Developing World ENT website. These resources are available at no cost under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License.