View the Open Day schedule for FHS here

Speech-language Pathology



Occupational Therapy




Congratulations to the South African Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI),  who received the Vice-Chancellor’s Social Responsiveness Award for 2018 at the Health Sciences graduation ceremony on Saturday 13 April 2019.

View the Dean's presentation from the Faculty Assembly here

Dean Williamson welcoming the Minister of Health, Dr. P Aaron Motsoaledi, to the Steve Lawn Annual Memorial Lecture on campus. View the full talk here





Thursday, 25 April 2019
Cultivating a health-conscious community

The Gugulethu Sports Complex was a hive of activity yesterday as community members streamed in to participate in a fair with a difference – a first-of-its-kind Health and Wellness Fair, hosted by the people for the people.

Publication Date:
Fri, 29 Mar 2019 - 14:15
Early-Career Researchers Showcase TB Work

Tuberculosis (TB) is one of the top 10 causes of death, globally. The World Health organisation’s (WHO) Global Tuberculosis Report released last year, estimates that in 2017, TB caused 1.3 million deaths among HIV-negative people, and there were an additional 300 000 deaths from TB among HIV-positive people.

Publication Date:
Fri, 29 Mar 2019 - 10:45
SATVI: World TB Day 3 Peaks Challenge

For World TB Day 2019 (24 March 2019) the South African Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI) team tackled the World TB Day Three Peaks Challenge which entailed ascending up Devils Peak, Platteklip Gorge and Lions Head in one day, in a bid to raise awareness about Tuberculosis.

Publication Date:
Thu, 28 Mar 2019 - 11:00
Miss SA helps break the TB stigma

Six months after revealing that she had beaten tuberculosis (TB), current Miss South Africa (SA) Tamaryn Green returned to the place where it all began: the University of Cape Town (UCT).

Publication Date:
Fri, 22 Mar 2019 - 14:15