Search

Animal Research Ethics Committee

AEC Members for 2016

Chair:

Prof PJ Commerford
Cardiac Clinic
E17, NGSH
Tel:021 686 4498 (Home)
082 369 7694
Patrick.Commerford@uct.ac.za

Animal Ethics Servicing Officer:

Ms Nosi Tsama
Room: E53.46
Old Main Building, GSH
Tel: 021 404 7682
Co-Chairs:

Dr E van der Merwe
Human Biology
Anatomy Building
(021) 4066591
elizabeth.vandermerwe@uct.ac.za

  A/Prof N Davies
Surgery: Cardiothoracic
Division Cardiovascular Research
Chris Barnard Building
Tel: 021 406 6613
Neil.davies@uct.ac.za
Members:

A/Prof A Bosch
Human Biology
Sports Science Institute
Tel: 021 650 4578
Andrew.Bosch@uct.ac.za

 

Dr T Angier
Philosophy Department
Upper Campus
Tel: 
021 650 4553
Tom.Angier@uct.ac.za  

 

Dr J Dorfman
Division of Immunology
Wolfson Pavilion
Tel: 
021 404 7629
Jeffrey.Dorfman@uct.ac.za

  Mr SF Engelbrecht
Research Office
E53, Room 46
Tel: 021 650 5057
Sidney.engelbrecht@uct.ac.za
  Judge IG Farlam
Law Community
farlam-bfn@intekom.co.za
 

Dr K Goetsch
Cardiovascular Research Unit
Chris Barnard Building
Kyle.Goetsch@uct.ac.za

 

A/Prof W Horsnell
Division of Immunology
Rm S1.21
Wernher & Beit Building 
Tel: 021 406 6035
w.horsnell@uct.ac.za orwghorsnell@gmail.com

 

Prof A Rycroft
Law Faculty
Law Kramer Building
Alan.rycroft@uct.ac.za

 

Ms T Stelma
Falmouth building
Lab 6.01
Tel: 021 4066266
Tamara.Stelma@hotmail.com

 

A/Prof L Van Sittert
Dept. of Historical Studies
Room 241, Beattie Building
(021) 650 2958
lance.vansittert@uct.ac.za

UCT Animal Unit
 

Dr B Mohr
Director: Animal Unit
Faculty Veterinarian
Bert.Mohr@uct.ac.za 

 

Dr Kim Tutt
Faculty Veterinarian
Kim.Tutt@uct.ac.za

 

Mr J Visser
Laboratory Animal Technologist
Jakobus.visser@uct.ac.za

 

Mr R Lucas
Laboratory Animal Technologist
Rodney.lucas@uct.ac.za

  Sr J McCallum
Manager: Conventional Unit and Animal Welfare
Janet.McCallum@uct.ac.za 
  Sr Inge Botes
Veterinarian Nurse
Inge.Botes@uct.ac.za 
Ex Officio: Dean's Office

Prof G Hussey
Interim Dean

 

Prof. G. Perez
Deputy Dean

 

A/Prof J Moodley
Deputy Dean, Research