Incentivising Interdisciplinary Cancer Research Seed Funding Awards

14 Oct 2014 - 14:00

This funding enables groups of researchers from different scientific domains (basic, clinical and public health sciences) to work together and obtain preliminary data needed for larger competitive interdisciplinary cancer research grant submissions.

 The 2014 recipients are:

Dr Tracey Adams, a clinician and specialist in Obstetrics and Gynaecology and a subspecialist in Gynaecological Oncology, will be investigating the genetic profile and tumour biology in women with ovarian cancer.

Professor Lynette Denny, Dept. Obstetrics and Gynaecology, UCT/GSH
Dr Tony Wu, Dept. of Anatomical Pathology, GSH/NHLS
Professor Raj Ramesar, Dept. of Human Genetics, UCT
Professor Paul Pharoah, Centre for Cancer Genetic Epidemiology, University of Cambridge




Dr Liz Gwyther (left) and Dr Lindsay Farrant (right), Palliative Care Group in School of Public Health and Family Medicine, will evaluate the impact on quality of life of individualized palliative care plans initiated at a tertiary oncology service.

Dr Riette Burger, Division of Radiation Oncology, UCT/GSH






Dr Georgia Schafer, Division of Medical Biochemistry, will investigate the impact of Ephrin Receptor A2 polymorphisms on KSHV infectivity in HIV/AIDS patients in South Africa.

Professor Arieh Katz, Division of Medical Biochemistry
Professor Marc Mendelson, Division of Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine
Dr Zainab Mohamed, Division of Radiation Oncology
Mr Jordache Ramjith, School of Public Health and Family Medicine