Home > About FHS > Management & Governance > Committees > Faculty Research Committee

Faculty Research Committee

Chair Prof Ambroise Wonkam

Departmental Research Chairs (DRCs)

Anaesthesia Prof Bruce Biccard
Health & Rehabilitation Sciences Dr Gillian Ferguson
Health Sciences Education Prof Francois Cilliers
Human Biology A/Prof Thomas Franz
IDM A/Prof Mark Hatherill
Prof Jonathan Blackburn
Integrative Biomedical Sciences Prof Arieh Katz
Medicine Dr Jonny Peter
Obstetrics & Gynaecology Dr Mushi Matjila
Paediatrics Prof Brenda Morrow
Pathology Prof Anna - Lise Williamson
Primary Health Care Mr James Irlam
Psychiatry & Mental Health A/Prof Adele Marias
Public Health & Family Medicine Prof John Ataguba
Radiation Medicine Dr Alistair Hunter
Surgery Dr Tim Pennel

Ex officio members



Dean: Health Sciences    
DVC: Research Innovation Prof Mamokgethi Phakeng
Director University Research Office Dr Marilet Sienaert
SFARS representative A/Prof  Lillian Artz
Human Research Ethics Committee Prof Marc Blockman
Animal Ethics Committee Prof Patrick Commerford
Faculty Research Office Dr Yolande Harley
Transformation Office   To be confirmed
Faculty Finance & Operations Manager Ms Eliza Hui
Research Management Accountant Mr Salie Nassiep
Clinical Research Centre Dr Delva Shamley
Cancer Research Initiative Prof Jennifer Moodley

URC Accredited Research Entity Leaders

Adolescent Health Research Unit (AHRU) Prof P de Vries
Alan J Flisher Research Centre for Public Mental Health Prof C Lund
Albertina & Walter Sisulu Institute for Ageing in Africa (IAA) Dr S Kalula
Cardiovascular Research Unit (CRU) Prof P Zilla
Desmond Tutu HIV Centre Prof R Wood
Environmental and Occupational Health Research, Centre for (CEOHR) A/Prof A Dalvie
Gender, Health and Justice Research Unit (GHJRU) A/Prof L Artz
Hatter Institute of Cardiology Research Prof K Sliwa-Hahnle & S Lecour
Health Economics Unit A/Prof J Ataguba
Health through Physical Activity, Lifestyle and Sport (H-PALS) Prof EV Lambert
HIV Mental Health Unit (HIVMHU) A/Prof J Joska
Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine, Institute of (IDM) Prof V Mizrahi
Infectious Disease Epidemiology Research, Centre for (CIDER) Prof L Myer
Kidney and Hypertension research unit Prof I Okpechi
Lung Infection and Immunity Unit (LIIU) Prof K Dheda
Medical Imaging Research Unit (MIRU) Prof T Douglas
MRC Unit on Child & Adolescent Health Prof H Zar
MRC/NHLS/UCT Molecular Mycobacteriology Research Unit Prof V Mizrahi
MRC/UCT Drug Discovery & Development Research Unit Prof K Chibale
MRC/UCT Immunology of Infectious Diseases Unit Prof F Brombacher
MRC/UCT Receptor Biology Research Group   Em. Prof R Millar & Prof A Katz
Neurosciences Institute Prof G Fieggen
Orthopaedic Research unit Dr M Held
SAMRC/UCT Gynaecological Cancer Research Centre Prof L Denny
South African Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative (SATVI) A/Prof M Hatherill
UCT Leukaemia Unit Prof N Novitzky
Welcome Centre for Infectious Diseases Research in Africa (CIDRI- Africa) Prof R Wilkinson
Women's Health Research Unit (WHRU) A/Prof J Harries

Contact Person


Carlette Hlungwani