Home > Undergraduate > Health Sciences Students' Council (HSSC)
Home > Undergraduate > Health Sciences Students' Council (HSSC)

Health Sciences Students' Council (HSSC)

The HSSC is the highest decision making body on all issues of student governance at the UCT Faculty of Health Sciences. It is made up of ten students who are democratically elected to office. The HSSC members represent and make submissions which express student's views, concerns and aspirations to various committees such as the Faculty Education Board, the Assessment Committee, the Health and Safety committee and to the Dean.

The key role of the HSSC is to help students fulfil their academic goal of graduation, by helping to advocate for the most ideal teaching and learning environment at our Faculty. This means that students can approach and be assisted by the HSSC with the following:


The concerns The celebrations & opportunities
  • Academic exclusion
  • Academic and psychosocial support
  • Needle stick injuries
  • Acquiring TB while on duty
  • Problems with transport
  • Financial problems
  • Research opportunities
  • Arranging concerts at our faculty
  • Talks by influential speakers
  • Sports events
  • Talent competitions
  • Starting your own project


HSSC Committee 2018/9

Empowering the next generation of leaders

Inga Mgaleli


Shalati Maselesele
Deputy Chairperson

Pleasure Maphanga


Khutsiso Digomo

Secretary General

Sinempilo Mkhize
Academic Officer
hssc.hracademics@uct.ac.za hssc.mbchbacademics@uct.ac.za

Thasil Pillay

Health & Rehabilitation Officer

Tendani Tshavhungwa

PR & Marketing

Temil Wilhase

Sports & Entertainment 

Linda Cusens

Student Wellness & Outreach  

Don’t know which one to contact?

Send an email to hssc@myuct.ac.za or phone our office 021 650 3750
Unanswered calls will be forwarded to the PR & Marketing Officer.